Museum Review: New York, New York at the Nassau County Museum of Art
Edited & Published by Dina Reis, CEO & editor-in-chief of ReisMag.com
New York City has been written about, sung about, photographed and painted. The latter two are beautifully showcased in the new exhibit at the Nassau Country Museum of Art. “New York, New York” includes over 140 pieces of art curated by Director Emerita Constance Schwartz. The exhibit is a love letter to the metropolis.
Some of the major artists of the Ashcan school, including one of its founders Robert Henri. Among the artists are familiar names like Childe Hassam, Georgia O’Keeffe, Red Grooms and not-so-familiar names such as Francis Luis Mora, James Penney and Howard Thain. We see New Yorkers at play, at home, on the go and at work. The exhibit is a snap shot of life in New York and it’s wonderful.
Including in the exhibit, is Red Grooms’ larger than life installation The Alley, from 1984-85, which fills an entire room and you walk through it.
My two favorites were of New York crowds. James Penney’s Subway (1933) was proof in a lithograph that the New York Subway have always been crowded. And one could get lost in Howard Thain’s Grand Central Station which is an amazing view of the grand hall of the iconic terminal. Every tiny person (many wearing cute red hats) has their own story.
Accompanying the exhibition is the film – Modern Dreams: Art of America. There is a free public tour of the exhibition daily at 2 p.m.
The museum also features an exhibit – “Glamour Icons” on the fragrance and cosmetic packaging by Marc Rosen– including perfume bottles which are tiny pieces of collectible art. In that world, it’s all about judging the book by its cover. When you exit the museum, take some time to explore the museum’s 145 acres of fields, woods, pond and formal gardens filled with sculptures dating from 1913 to 2006.
“New York, New York” and “Glamour Icons” run through November 5, 2017.
For details, http://nassaumuseum.org , 516-484-9338.
The museum is housed in Clayton, the Bryce-Frick mansion was designed by Ogden Codman, Jr. in 1900 for the Lloyd Bryce family. In 1919 Henry Clay Frick purchased the Bryce house as a gift for his son Childs Frick and his wife Frances. Frick was an early member of the Department of Vertebrate Paleontology at the Museum of Natural History in Manhattan. He did his work in Millstone Lab which was built in 1936 and now houses the museum’s art studios. The building became a private not-for-profit institution in 1989.